2022 Good Apple Dinner Honorees


The Texas Appleseed Board of Directors is proud to name A. Shonn Brown and her late husband Clarence B. Brown III as this year’s Good Apples.

A. Shonn BrownShonn is Vice President and Deputy General Counsel for global litigation at Kimberly-Clark. She is a celebrated community and corporate leader passionate about advancing gender and racial equity. Shonn is immediate past chair of the Texas Women’s Foundation, chair-elect of The Hockaday School, and a member of the Dallas Museum of Art and The Village Giving Circle boards. She has served as the Secretary-Treasurer and Vice-Chair of the Dallas Bar Association Board of Directors, where she led the development of a leadership program for women lawyers. Before joining Kimberly-Clark, she was a partner at Lynn Pinker Hurst and Schwegmann. She began her legal career at Locke Lord LLP. She has appeared in D CEO’s “Top 500 Business Leaders in Dallas,” Texas Monthly’s “Texas Super Lawyers” and “Top 50 Women Lawyers in Texas,” and Texas Lawyer’s “Extraordinary Minority Lawyers.” Shonn is a recipient of the Dallas Business Journal’s “Top Women in Business” and “Top Minorities in Business” awards. 

Clarence B. Brown IIIClarence was a beloved member of the Dallas legal community and a strong advocate for education and opportunities for students of color. He died in September 2021. Clarence was Vice President, General Counsel, and Corporate Secretary at Kronos Worldwide. Inspired by his parents, who were among the first Black teachers in Killeen ISD, he was committed to helping Black students succeed. He was actively involved in Dallas’ non-profit community, including serving on the boards of Community Partners of Dallas, Readers 2 Leaders, St. Philip’s School and Community Center, Parish Episcopal School, and the Dallas Chapter of Jack and Jill of America. Before joining Kronos, he served as Senior Attorney at McAfee, Inc. He and Shonn met early in his legal career while they were both attorneys at Locke Lord LLP. Clarence served as Corresponding Secretary of the J.L. Turner Legal Association and on the Texas General Counsel Forum statewide Board of Directors, Dallas Chapter Board, and as Dallas Chapter President.

For their exemplary leadership within the corporate and non-profit sectors, devotion to advancing equity, and incredible impact on the Dallas community and beyond, Texas Appleseed is proud to honor Shonn and Clarence Brown with the 2022 J. Chrys Dougherty Good Apple Award on November 17.

Pro Bono Leadership Award Recipients


The international professional services company, Deloitte, has become a key partner in organizing Texas Appleseed's operations through its stepupATX program — which taps a range of its professionals for pro bono and skills-based volunteering. They researched and recommended best practices to enhance our data management infrastructure. Most recently, Deloitte assembled an outcome-based operating model aimed at increasing Texas Appleseed's cross-programmatic work.

Enoch Kever PLLC

The Enoch Kever PLLC law firm has worked tirelessly to support our Fair Financial Services project. Enoch Kever has assisted Texas Appleseed with legal research and writing in support of our work to build local protections against predatory payday and auto title lending practices. The firm's support has included drafting amicus briefs, assessing local ordinance approaches, and providing other support to Texas Appleseed staff. Enoch Kever has been an invaluable partner over many years to reform harmful lending practices and expand access to fair credit that enhances the financial well-being of Texans.